Rough Trade Shops:15 Years of Bella Union Records Compilation

It’s no secret that times are tough for independent labels. So, it’s a testament to the quality and tenacity of Bella Union that they are about to celebrate 15 years of releasing music. They have teamed up with Rough Trade to produce a compilation of some of the highlights of the past decade and a half in the form of a 2 disc compilation showcasing some of the best acts from the label’s roster. The tracks on the album celebrate bands such as Veronica Falls, Fleet Foxes, I Break Horses, Beach House and Explosions In The Sky. The track listing shows off a range of music that spans the life of the label and listening to the album pulls into focus just how good the Bella Union back catalogue really is.  It’s not just previously released songs on here either. The compilation also looks ahead with previously unreleased tracks, specially recorded for the album, from The Walkman, Lanterns On The Lake and The Low Anthem, to name just a few.  Label boss Simon Raymonde has this to say about the compilation:

“Looking back, as one must do when compiling any form of retrospective, is not something I had planned until I was to be 65, still a few good years away yet. So maybe that gives you a hint that I didn’t exactly salivate at the idea of picking a small number of tracks from the last 15 years as some kind of complete representation of the label’s output. For every artist andtrack I pick, there will be several more I cannot, and that is an uncomfortable feeling. Certainly before the time I took control of the label properly, around 2001, some of the artists signed were not wholly my choice and therefore not wholly my taste, so I decided that the only way for me to imbue this collection with the love and care it deserves was to make it as much of a personal one as I could, and most importantly to make it musically edifying to listen to. I hope I have managed to achieve this”.

‘Rough Trade Shops:15 Years of Bella Union Records’ is out 24th September and the track listing looks like this:

CD One
1. M Ward – Primitive Girl
2. Veronica Falls – Stephen
3. Wild Nothing – Shadow
4. Beach House – Lover Of Mine
5. Andrew Bird – Effigy
6. Laura Veirs – July Flame
7. Fleet Foxes – Montezuma
8. The Acorn – Crooked Legs
9. John Grant – TC & Honeybear
10. Stephanie Dosen – Vinalhaven Harbor
11. Explosions In The Sky – Your Hand in Mine
12. Hannah Cohen – Don’t Say
13. Poor Moon – Holiday
14. Treefight For Sunlight – Time Stretcher
15. Vetiver – More Of This
16. Lawrence Arabia – I’ve Smoked Too Much
17. Cashier no. 9 – Oh Pity
18. Marques Toliver – Magic Look

CD Two
1. Van Dyke Parks – Be Careful
2. Mountain Man – Buffalo
3. Peter Broderick – Colin
4. Midlake – The Jungler
5. I Break Horses – Hearts (RAR mix)
6. Dirty Three – Everything’s Fucked
7. My Latest Novel – Wrongfully, I Rested
8. The Czars – Goodbye
9. Our Broken Garden – The Departure
10. Lift To Experience – To Guard & To Guide You

Exclusive Bonus Tracks
11. The Walkmen – The House You Made
12. The Low Anthem – Down There By The Train
13. Jonathan Wilson – Journey from Eden
14. Zun Zun Egui – Battlefield
15. Lanterns On The Lake – Below It
16. Father John Misty feat. Phosphorescent – I Would Love You

Go to the Bella Union soundcloud to check out some of their stuff. You’d be mad not to.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s