Pascal Pinon – ‘Twosomeness’

by_Lilja_Birgisdottir_PP_1Pascal Pinon are twin sisters Jófrídur and Ásthildur who, despite still being in their teens, have just finished writing and recording their second album, Twosomeness, which is set to be released on 18 January (05 February in US) on Morr Music. Twosomeness is a far cry from the lo-fi, xylophone infused cuteness of their eponymous debut. It seems that in the two years since that was released, the sisters have honed a more electronic sound, embracing crunchy beats and (even more) analogue keyboards, emphasised by the production of Alex Somers (Sigur Rós, Sin Fang). That isn’t to say Pascal Pinon have lost any of their charm in the process. The opening track ‘Ekki Vanmeta’ draws you in with the punchy crackle of compressed beats, chiming keyboards and the whispering harmonies of Jófrídur and Ásthildur. Tracks like ‘Kertið’ and ‘Fernando’ show off a maturity of musical awareness far beyond Pascal Pinon’s tender years (‘Fernando’ is so haunting it’ll make you feel like you’re actually standing on a coast of cold black sand watching the sun rise). ‘Þerney (One Thing)’ is probably the closest to a conventional pop song on the album, but conventional isn’t what Pascal Pinon are all about. If Twosomeness is the kind of album Pascal Pinon are coming up with now, I can’t wait to hear what they’ll sound like when they’re out of their teens.

PP Packshot

1. Ekki Vanmeta
2. Þerney (One Thing)
3. Somewhere
4. Evgeny Kissin
5. When I Can’t Sleep
6. Annar Logi
7. Kertið
8. Sumarmál
9. Bloom
10. Fernando
11. Good And Bad Things
12. Rifrildi

Pascal Pinon are giving away the track ‘Þerney (One Thing)’ via download below. They’re nice like that.

Photo by Lilja Birgisdottir

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s