Watch: Okkervil River – ‘It Was My Season’

OkkervilRiver_CreditBenSklarWe’ve got to say, it’s pretty exciting news that Austin based melody stompers Okkervil River have announced they are set to release a new album. Entitled The Silver Gymnasium, the album is the band’s seventh long player and is slated for release on 03 September (ATO records). Frontman Will Sheff has always been a reflexive songwriter, and this album seems to be steeped in the poignant nostalgia that permeates the band’s output. Even the artwork for the album has been a labour of love. Consisting of a huge fold-out map of Sheff’s child home of  Meriden, NH, drawn by Sheff himself, it looks pretty good.

In anticipation of the upcoming release, the band have produced a video for the opening track ‘It Was My Season’. The track is a sinister tale of urban anxiety mixed with a heady shot of glorious Southern foot stomping pop. It sounds like a juxtaposition, but that’s what Okkervil River do best.

The tracklisting for The Silver Gymnasium looks like this:

1.   It Was My Season
2.   On A Balcony
3.   Down Down the Deep River
4.   Pink-Slips
5.   Lido Pier Suicide Car
6.   Where the Spirit Left Us
7.   White
8.   Stay Young
9.   Walking Without Frankie
10. All The Time Every Day
11. Black Nemo

Watch the video for ‘It Was My Season’ below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s